Review “Who moved my Cheese?” by Dr Spencer Johnson

A work colleague recommended this book to me some years back and I had completely forgotten about it, only to be reminded of it last year by a different colleague. I finally got around to it last week. In retrospect, my subconscious must have been hinting at me not to read this for a reason. It is truly dreadful.

 

It is written for people who cannot manage change well. Let me be clear, I am in no suggesting that I am in some way suggesting that I am an expert in changing. Far from yet. Yet, I have got my head around the fact that we are spinning around the sun on a rock, in space, hurtling into an uncertain future. This much seems relatively straightforward to grasp. Apparently not.

 

The story is about two mice and two “littlespeople” who reside in a maze. It is dark and their sole objective is to survive on a diet of cheese. Hem & Haw are the two littlespeople who stay in the same spot in the maze until their cheese runs out after it has gone mouldy. Hem wants to go looking for further supplies while Haw stays put. All the while, the two mice, Sniff and Scurry, had immediately learned that they had to journey into the dark maze to find more cheese and survive. They were able to change. Yawn.

 

There are a plethora of mundane aphorisms such as “if you do not change you become extinct”. There is the obligatory segment on overcoming fear, no book on management would be complete without this, “what you are afraid of is never as bad as what you imagine. The fear you let build up in your mind is worse than the situation that actually exists”. For that is all ye know on Earth, and all ye need to know…

About Mick Gilbride

@orbital80
Aside | This entry was posted in Book, Book review, Books, Business, Dr Spencer Johnson, Management, Managing change, Who ate my Cheese?. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

